Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:09 p.m. - 2018-01-15
VER-ing away from work?????
I am exhausted but determined to write today. This will be the beginning of my journey out of the Postal World and into the world of freedom. On a shoestring.

My plan was always to exit three years from the time that I fled Florida for an office with a lot less stress and some really good people. For 2.5 years these jobs have been a Godsend. I do sacrifice for sanity though. I am not guaranteed more than 10 hours a week. I have been able to survive well on around 25 to 30 average by being placed in other offices when I couldn't get enough hours in mine. But even though I was working "part time" it felt like full time. Between having to scramble to round up hours over what I got in my home office, I also had to drive lots of miles in my older car. I had to work different shifts, sometimes two offices in one day. It hasn't been bad. The people are real and hard working here. People have been friendly, but I have not made friends. I have hidden in my apartment or been with my daughter and family most of my time here.

When talk of the VER began last week, my dream of retiring Oct. 1 became a more realistic dream of March 31. there may be an incentive offered if not enough people take this offer, but I am not willing to wait. Just like I'm not willing to continue to work in a job that can be dangerous in travel and also physical at times that I will live long enough on the other side of whatever is an "acceptable" retirement age. I am healthy NOW. I am jumping NOW and experiencing a few things I want to do. I will make about the same or a little more than I've been making now after taxes. I am so easy to please.

I found a cute little remodeled mobile home for fifteen grand in a decent park here. I bought it on the spot with little scrutiny because I've looked for three years and I knew it was a great deal. My lot rent will be 300 a month and utilities are reasonable. The home itself will be paid for. Even if I cannot afford to live in two places, I certainly can afford that. And have a better quality of life. The mental stress on me due to my scatter brained tendencies is tough. I already beat myself up. I need to be free. The deposit is down, the applications are in for lot rental and the adventure begins. I've lived in 4 different places in the last few years. A home base could be so much better for me. A place I felt I could really make my own.

It is really bad outside. I think it's the worst storm I have witnessed since I moved here. I am hoping next year I could be somewhere else....

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!