Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:55 p.m. - 2016-12-14
Another year has passed.....
AnChristmas.

Christmas over the years took on many faces. As a small child, excitement of presents that seemed to flow endlessly from under the hand cut but scraggly cedar. Tinsel hanging from every branch. Stockings with fruit, nuts, a few little gifts. Wonder and awe driving around the neighborhood to see the lights. Simple pleasures. A new bike, a record player. Family.

As a teen I always went to see a movie with my boyfriend on Christmas Eve after visiting with my grandparents for dinner. They had a fireplace (in Florida!) and lighting it every year was a special treat. Always the gift of new Christmas PJ's. And stores were open extra late during the holiday season. It was a lot of fun to be shopping or at least window shopping at 10, 11, or 12 at night!

With the birth of my children came a new kind of joy. Being Santa. Giving them the things they wanted and watching them enjoy. Working at the post office kind of diminished my joy during a season when we worked so many hours. But it was wonderful to see the children's wonder and awe.

Now the kids are grown. The grandchildren have come into my life. I am alone now, but I find it peaceful. This year I will spend the night with my daughter and her three children. Wait for Santa to visit them....and help her feel not so sad that her husband will be working this holiday.

I have everything I need. Most of what I want. I am fortunate to be able to work part time and have these things. I have decorated my modest apartment with treasures found in thrift stores around town and you would never know it. I am planning a vacation in June and my gift to myself this holiday will be a ticket to see Coldplay again next year. That was one of my highlights this year, buying a ticket on the actual DAY of the concert and striking out for Chicago. It was the best concert I have ever seen.

I've experienced a lot of heartache over the past ten years but I am finally in a good place. A place of contentment and appreciation for every tiny good thing in my life. There are oh so many.....


 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!