Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:17 p.m. - 2010-01-02
Camping at the Sawmill
Another New Year's eve has come and gone. We settled into our cabin and immediately decorated festively with paper stars Diana had created AND sprayed with rainbow colors, among other items she'd collected for the weekend. Our cabin is cute, albeit small, and adequately equiped. A small heater is provided but so far we've been able to use the blanketing to stay warm enough. I don't think that will fly tonight because temps are supposed to dip down to the 20's

The New Year's celebration was fun. I danced, snacked, had a little to drink. The decorators here had fashioned a light-up dropping ball that was lowered as we counted down the last few moments. Everyone seemed to have a pretty good time. We stayed up til around 3 a.m. then crawled into the bed more than ready to sleep. Iwas snuggled down deep when I realized I had forgotten to put the steaaks into the marinade. So I got up and threw them in but boy what a garlicky fragrance!!

Dinner the next night was great. That marinade is a definitely keeper. We had strip steak, Di's famous creamed corn, mashed potatoes, and salad. We really lucked out when our neighbors gave us the grill, ready to go, after only using it briefly. Otherwise, dinner would have taken far too long and we were already late coming back from the movie.

Friday was dreary and drizzly. We decided to go see Avatar. I was so excited, after my sister gave it the most glowing review. My sister is NOT a moviegoer, and it takes alot to impress her. SO we went. And I must say the theater was fabulous, very state of the art. And the movie still engages me in thought about how everything was achieved, and the beauty of it, some 24 hours later. I rarely give movies a second thought after I chuck the popcorn bag and half consumed monster soda into the garbage just outside the theater.

I just read a review by a fellow moviegoer that was quite in depth regarding his Avatar experience. He went WAY deeper than I have even though of going. All I can say is it was eye candy to the Nth degree and that is what I enjoyed so much. Like a dream where around every corner, another visual surprise pops out at you. The love story was cutesy...and the exciting parts were exciting enough, but I have to say the thing that wowed me was the pure visual delight. I can't wait to see it again.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!