Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:33 p.m. - 2006-03-24
I Promise I'll Sleep In Tomorrow.....
Ok, I did make it back for a second entry.......

Just sitting outside thinking, and enjoying the evening. It's a little cool, supposed to be down around 43 tonight, so I didn't stay out too long. The sky was very clear though, just beautiful. I wish I could have stayed longer.

I had a rough day today. The sleep deficit I've steadily run up this week was finally taking its toll. Then a regular comes into the office today and says "Hey gal, You look like you're getting about as much sleep as I am!". Thanks a bunch dude! Like I didn't already know.....

Then there was Don. We have a kid coming in to clean the office and he listens to music while working. Today Don says to me "Kids today need to get those things out of their ears and face reality." (insert other various grumbles here, can't remember what else he said, I was seeing red already from his first judgemental comment) That's the only problem I have there, is that Don is so old for his age sometimes it can be a little unnerving. Especially those wonderful days when we gals tend to bounce back and forth between Jekyll and Hyde.

I defy one to listen to songs like "Back in Black", "Come Together", anything by Hendrix, etc, etc, at a whisper. Crank that mother up! And I'm nearly 50 and I still like to "pump up the volume" with a tune that can penetrate my soul.

Ok, enough of the bitch session.

Ahhhh, its the weekend. A chance to unwind, relax and reflect. OR you could just spend half the day at a freakin' baby shower. I'll admit I don't get invited to many baby showers these days, but I don't think I've EVER been to one that lasted 4 hours! Maybe I'm jumping to conclusions thinking that I will be climbing out of my skin after about 2 or so hours of sitting in uncomfortable clothes with people I don't know. Maybe it will actually be enjoyable. 4 hours. Hmmmmm

(OK, I wasn't done with the bitch session, but now I am.)

I was taking mental inventory earlier of the many people who have made my life better. I spend so much time talking about all the ones who screwed me up, that I don't give fair recognition to the ones who probably kept me from totally going off the cliff.

My first memory is of someone I haven't thought of in a long time; Maxine. When I was in 7th grade she was my best friend's mother. Her weathered two story home way out in the country was the perfect place for the girls to gather and giggle incessantly for hours. I even remember a couple of spine tingling attempts at seances that we had there in that slightly creepy old house in the wee hours of the night.

Most of us thought Maxine was the perfect mom. She had a youthful exuberance about her, and just reflected the most radiant sunshine with every smile. And one night, when my heart was breaking, she helped me put it back together again.

I was agonizing over what I felt was an unusually lacking love life. (Probably around 6th or seventh grade LOL) I remember her hugging me, then looking me squarely in the eyes and saying "Kim, one day someone will come along that will love you more than you can imagine." You know, she was right! And I've never forgotten those words of encouragement, the warm acceptance I felt whenever she was around, and how many good memories we made in her home.

I run into Maxine from time to time, as well as her daughter Sherry, my old seventh grade pal. Each time I see them, it is like we've never been apart. Easy laughter, real connection. How lucky we are in this life when the sun shines as brightly as Maxine.


Oh, there's one more song that's played better loud, or rather songs.....Anything from Fleetwood Mac, Rumours...haha (I'm listening to "The Chain" on my IPOD right now.) Another killer song I heard tonight was Ben Harper's cover of "Ain't no Sunshine When She's Gone". Awesome. What would we do in a world without (LOUD!) music! Sigh.....

Off to bed....maybe. G'night

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!