Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:39 a.m. - 2006-03-24
The rest of the story.....
I sat down at a small table by the door, ordered a beer, went under the headphones and wrote a couple of poems. It was bliss. I was still soaring from the Art Gallery experience. Then I got the call.

Craig had been involved in a little accident with a taxi. (in that oh so sweet car we had fallen in love with!) Luckily, nobody was hurt but the right front wheel was bent and the car could not be driven. My high from the gallery came crashing down pretty fast after hearing the bad news. It took about 2 hours or so to get it all straightened out and get another rental car. Craig was ticketed for failure to yield.

The next morning we set out again, over the stress of the night before and anxious to explore. We visited the Art Gallery again, and I pointed Craig toward some of the highlights I had enjoyed. Then we went to the Botanical Gardens and that was fabulous as well. A wonderful day.

Then the next hurtle. Got to the airport at 3:15 and finally after we sat there for 6 hours (due to mechanical problems), they decided that the flight would be cancelled. Their options had run out. Apparently the part they needed had to come from Chicago Then when the part came, evidently it was the wrong one, and then there was no other plane to take the flight, etc.) The gate area was way overcrowded and miserable. Reminded me of a bus depot. I was never so glad to leave a place.

Absolutely worn out, we got our vouchers for room/meals and headed to the hotel, finally arriving around 10:30. All in all this proved to be pretty decent. The room was very nice, at the Hyatt, and I certainly didn't mind missing work on a Monday..LOL

LUCKILY, Craig talked me into consolidating my stuff into one bag for this trip, one that could be checked plane-side. The folks who had to wait for their bags didn't make it to the hotel until about midnight.

I can't WAIT to fly again.....

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!