Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:10 p.m. - 2006-03-25
The Gods are Smiling Down on Me Today

I must first shamefully concede that I was very premature in discounting the baby shower as a pleasurable experience. It was beyond pleasurable, turning into one of those moments in time where people cross your path and you know it's more than chance.

The shower was held in an oceanfront hotel ballroom. The view of the ocean was beautiful, and the weather superb. I should have known, from the location alone, that I would at least enjoy that much!

Decorations were adorable, games tolerable! (how many times CAN you cut that string the size of mommy's belly or gleefully clip and unclip those diaper pins??? I did come very close to guessing the amount of candy eggs in the jar though, but I'm just as glad I DIDN'T win that one!)

At the front of the room, the bountiful baby booty was astounding! The most creative gift I have ever seen for baby was a "clothesline" about 20 feet or so long, that unfolded from the package complete with clothing clipped with clothespins every foot or so. Very clever and adorable!

I was seated next to a very friendly young woman and we immediately hit it off. The first thing we had in common was our curiosity about Sedona. She was as interested in it as I am. We chatted about that, and many other things for the next couple of hours. By the time we parted I knew alot about her and one thing that spoke to my heart was her love of writing. I encouraged her to follow her dream, instead of putting it on the shelf for 30 years like I have. I want to make contact with her again, maybe take her to lunch and talk some more. She had a very vibrant personality and a sparkle in her eyes that reminded me of myself at that age. It couldn't hurt either, for her to have someone to check in on her, having her family so far away. So that was another really cool, cosmic thing that happened.

I was also seated next to a very lively and comedic elderly gentleman. I was instantly charmed and had a ball flirting with him during the shower. I began to get bits and pieces of his life and could see that he would be a very interesting person to talk with at length. He hails from Belgium and was 12 when WWII ended. I am sure he has alot to say and he was quite the colorful character. I plan on hooking up with he and his wife (she was a doll too!) and "interviewing" them over lunch some time.

Last, but not least, I found out that a fellow attendee at the shower is a tattoo artiest. She does work from her home so that she can be with her 2 beautiful children. She's also Buddhist, I learned, from her MySpace page. Another form of spirituality to explore possibly???? How cool is that? I wasn't familiar with any of the tattoo shops locally and wasn't sure where I'd like to go so this was perfect! I told her what I wanted and she quoted a price that was about half what I'd have to pay in a shop. And I looked over some of her art on her website. Very good. So soon I will adorn my body with this colorful reminder of these passages in my life. I have chosen the Sun/Moon/Stars. What better choice to commemorate this passage from denial to acceptance....from avoidance to embracing....and from fear to courage.

Speaking of courage.....it took alot to walk away from what was the cutest house I've ever seen today, and just what I have been dreaming of. Only 4 blocks from the small office where I work, and about 5 miles from the "Big House". AND under 200,000. (just) BUT, the boys don't like it. It is a small house, but full of interesting details that you only find in wonderful old homes. Fabulous pool area with gazebo/lawn furniture/fire pit. I could sit out there for the rest of my life. And that's probably ONE reason why my hubby doesn't want to get it. AND, it had a separate guest cottage that I thought had infinite possibilities; Teen's dream for sure....their own space AWAY from the ADULTS?? Putting up guests??? Game room???

Oh well....I know it's not the ONLY game in town.....

Not a bad day though, all in all.

G'night

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!