Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:56 p.m. - 2006-05-27
Sedona....part two

I had some trouble finding the Full Moon Saloon. It was tucked away behind another shopping area. When I was just about to give up, I spotted it, and saw the "performer" currently singing inside the window.

I walked in and sat at a tall table away from the bar. It didn't take long to see that the empty couch nearby would be much more comfortable. It was....and I made myself at home, enjoying the music, through the distractions.

I listened as they came up, one by one, until they repeated. One guy was pretty good. The rest were somewhat painful to listen to. Just the setting for me to try out the pipes. I picked up the song list and perused it for a few moments and THERE IT WAS! I saw the perfect song, and made up my mind that I was going to do this thing, and not chicken out like I normally do. (yeah, I was the one who practiced like mad to try out for the cheerleading team but never got up the nerve or confidence to do it)(maybe that was a blessing....but anyway...)

I mentioned to the barmaid that I wanted to sing, and she mentioned it to the DJ. He came over and reassured me that I couldn't be much worse than the rest and finally I was ready. (after a few more chugs of beer...haha)

I took the mike, and waited for the song to start. I told my audience that this song was appropriate for my first attempt at Karaoke since I was alone for the weekend, and it was also a great pick because it was one of our favorite songs when hubby and I first met.
Then I belted out "I Touch Myself", by the DiVinyls. (complete with accentuating gestures) When I finished, I made my way back to the couch, relieved for it to be over, but feeling quite jubilant! One older couple left....hope I wasn't too much for them???? The DJ came over and suggested another song, should I want to sing again, that would be good for my voice. "White Rabbit" (?) I assured him that this debut, would most likely be my swan song. Just had to do it once. And that song was perfect.

It wasn't long before I received a drink from an older gent at the bar, dressed to the nines. I had a fan. He proceeded to hit on me, and when that fell through, he moved on to the barmaid who was about 24 years old. I rescued her by telling him that she was my daughter and I'd just gotten into town to see her from Florida. She played along beautifully and he finally left. The guy was in the bar the night before buying a round for everyone in the bar. Barmaid told me I could probably have been treated really well for a couple of nights and I shuddered at the thought! Ecccckkkk!

I closed down the bar and barmaid and I walked out to the car where she shared some excellent herbal remedy with me. A nice gal. We hugged, and I took her address. I sent her a little package to show my grattitude. I'd also like to keep in touch with her because she reminded me so much of myself at her age. So uncertain, lacking in self esteem, unaware of her assets. She was very attractive and had a sparkling personality. She had just gotten in a little too deep, too soon with a 9 month baby at home. I would like to encourage her in any way I can.

It was a very nice night. My first night of independence..haha And when I returned at 2:30 a.m. I realized I had locked myself out of my room. At this time, I'm debating whether to sleep in my car (only briefly....I'm too damn old for that nonsense) or knock on the manager's door and ask for help. I decided to knock. And lo and behold.....she was one of the people at the bar earlier. Small world. She was very understanding about the key.....and I was very grateful. And after spending some time writing, listening to music, meditating on the day.....I finally got my 2 1/2 hours of sleep and was on my way once again ready for Day 2.

Pic of DJ and my new friend. I coerced her into trying her hand at Karaoke, and she picked a song that was too difficult and choked. At least she tried! G'night

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!