Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:43 p.m. - 2006-04-18
Sedona....the beginning
I couldn't sit outside tonight without this nagging urge to get inside and write something about the trip. I feel like the longer I wait, the dimmer the memories. So here goes....

I started the trip out with a smooth, ontime flight to Phoenix. When I got to the car rental counter I learned that I'd reserved was a 4 cylinder. I had to upgrade to a more powerful vehicle so that I could easily navigate the mountains.

The car was great. It was a Dodge Charger, and I liked the feel of driving it. But I'm not usually the one doing the driving and the interier was quite different than mine. I drove off noticing a sound that wouldn't go away....a turn signal sound. I couldn't find a way to stop it. And the GPS unit I'd rented was handed to me in a bag, with no instructions. (I asked the guy at the rental counter if instructions were in the bag and he said yes! (DOLLAR) I couldn't figure out how to attach the darn thing, so I just stuck it in the cup holder.

After trying to a while to figure out the noise, I finally decided to go back to the rental facility and get some help. I pulled in, told the gentleman waiting there that I wasn't returning the vehicle, was just upset because I couldn't figure things out, no book in glove compartment, etc. Turns out the noise I heard was the hazzard signal. I could have sworn I pushed that switch but I guess not and I felt like a huge idiot. (I later found out they put the car manual in the TRUNK. How in the hell would I have ever guessed that??? People steal them, evidently. I don't know if other GPS units had instructions in them or not but it would be a good idea!)

As I drove out of the garage, I stopped at the check-out point and asked the guy working there to please show me how to attach the GPS unit. It was a suction-type attachment, although I'm damned if I could figure out how to activate it.

Finally I was on my way.

I had a nice visit that night with Nikki and Mike. We went to Famous Dave's for some good BBQ, and then down to Mill Avenue for a walk among the shops and bars. Nice area, I enjoyed the walk. We stopped by a drum circle for a while but it wasn't really going anywhere fast so we left. It was a good night and I was anxious for the morning and the beginning of my adventure.

I left Phoenix around 9:30. The drive, once out of the city, is very easy and I enjoyed the changing scenery, music, and independence of doing this all by myself! I had no doubt that I'd have a fabulous time, but it was a little awkward when I hit the hills. I never drive in the mountains. It was also a little more than awkward when the GPS unit fell right in my lap. Scared the shit out of me. (I learned today that I should have "spit" on it before attaching it and that would have helped...yech!) Other than that little snafu, it was a great drive.

My first stop was the hotel to attempt an early check-in. It would be at least 1:00 before that would be possible. I saw a sign across the street "Tourist Information".

I walked into the office and saw that a family was talking with the guy at the desk so I stood behind them, waiting my turn. This guy was the ultimate sleezy time-share guy. (yeah, that "tourist information" is just a cover for "slimy time share operation".) Time share guy, age around 60 I'd guess, was flirting with the teenage daughters when he wasn't being clever. I interjected a couple of snide remarks from the "peanut gallery" when appropriate, and soon it was my turn with him. I walked up to him, shook his hand and said "You are very good at what you do" (The memory of his million dollar smile with the little sparkle in the corner of one tooth, still present) "But you can cut the bullshit with me, all I want is a map." He was a little flustered, but never missed a step.

"Let me sign you up for the 90 minute tour."

I told him that I had only three days and I was going to enjoy every minute. He was still yacking as I walked away and blew him a kiss over my shoulder. God how I hate those people.....car salesmen, timeshare salesmen. There must be a special place in hell, just for them. And you ALL know just exactly what I'm talking about because there's no way you haven't been cornered by one of these guys at one time or another.

I got a call that my tour had been canceled only to find out 30 minutes into a hike that it was on again. By the time I reached the meeting place, I was dripping sweat and looking oh so lovely. But it was a nice tour, and I was with 3 couples who had been friends since elementary school. I took this picture of them before we parted...


I went back to the hotel after the tour, took a shower and got ready to go out for a bite. I went to a Mexican restaurant in Sedona that the family on the tour recommended. It was pretty good, although service lacked. I felt weird being there alone. That was the only time that it really was a little uncomfortable for me during the whole trip.

After dinner I decided to go drive around a bit, get into a more relaxed mode. I planned on going to the Full Moon Saloon for Karaoke later and wanted to be ready for that. I've never participated in Karaoke, although like most people who are too afraid to go up, always had a secret desire to have my 5 minutes of fame.

And I did.

More later......


G'night

OH, one more thing before I go.....I'm really pissed about this "Unsexiest Man" thing. Lovely message about what is valuable in life huh? And MEN doing the judging???? come on.....

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!