Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:59 p.m. - 2006-03-20
Craig and Kim's Excellent Adventure: Part One
Finally, HOME.

It was certainly an interesting weekend. I'll try and recall some of the more interesting details of "Craig and Kim's Excellent Adventure." As usual, we managed to pack a ton of activity into our short stay.

Friday, as I wrote in a prior entry, was pretty low key. Just settling in, taking in a few sights, then back to the hotel for a little chill time. We drank our share of green beer. Luckily, our hotel featured O'Malleys bar and grill. We would NEVER have been able to get in any of the pubs we passed in the city, crowds huddled outside in the street waiting to get in.

***Craig and I with our green beer. WHAT A HIDEOUS PICTURE!! I had just finished working out and look like a drunk caught in the headlights. That was my first beer! And Craig looks like he has about 5 chins, when in fact he only has two or three LOL***

Saturday morning we made our way to the cemetery. The cloudless sky was a vibrant blue. Heading out to the car though, the wind was whipping about chilling me to the bone in my not quite adequate jacket.

It took about 30 minutees to get to the cemetery. We stopped at the office to check in and we were led by a very nice young woman, down to the site where Gary's remains would rest. The last time we were there, the weather must have been different because I don't remember the landscape being so lovely.

We followed the young woman to the gravesite. (If she told me her name, I certainly don't remember it under the circumstances.) I was surprised at just how much emotion overcame us both as we drove toward the waiting tent. We'd recovered pretty well from the shock of Gary's death over a month ago, or so I thought. We took up three of the five chairs as we sat staring blankly at the plain, green box in front of us. Tears were flowing freely. Zach was the most broken up and I felt for him, remembering similar agonizing times in my life when I was around his age.

We sat for a while, and I spoke quietly about our good times and my hope that wherever he is, he is with Bea now. Craig barely managed to get the words out "Dad, I kept my promise. I brought you home."

We walked around the site for a bit. Craig stirred the mound of dirt beside the grave for a minute or two and came up with a tiny heart shaped stone. I collect heart shaped rocks and have many from all over the US and several from around the world. We placed Craig's find on the bronze plaque and stood a few more minutes hugging each other tightly.



After cleaning up the plaque as best we could, Craig pocketed the little heart and we started to drive away. I spotted a private section away from the rest of the cemetery with about a dozen very old tombstones. I had to stop and check it out.

The first I came to was this one.


As I read the inscription, I had to write it down so I could share it with you it was so wonderful.


As best I could translate it....


Sacred to the ever cherished Memory of Mrs. Elinore Mitchell Eldest daughter of Robert and Polly Sewall and the lamented consort of Francis I Mitchell of Baltimore.

Oh you who pensive seek instruction here Thro life's vicissitudes your course to steer Approach this tomb the grave beneath contains her ever honored, ever dear remains. Whose sweet benevolence, connubial love Whose pure affection sprung from heaven above Taught her to yield, in peace her latest breath, and meet with blissful hope the stroke of death


Her remains are here deposited near her tender infant Robert Sewall Mitchell, deceased 16 July 1810 at 9 months.

FIM to his most revered and beloved inscribed this monument. RIP


What an inscription!!!!! I wonder if poor bereaved Francis penned this eloquent inscription from his own heart, or if this was a typical "Hallmark style" eulogy of the period. Either way, it was a very poignant farewell to a dear departed loved one.

This is getting lengthy so I think I'll close for tonight, and write some more tomorrow. Things really started getting interesting Saturday afternoon.

G'night

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!