Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:01 a.m. - 2006-03-22
Craig and Kim's Excellent Adventure: Part Two
Saturday afternoon we drove into D.C. Craig took Zach to "guy stuff", and I made a beeline to the National Gallery of Art. Being somewhat map impaired, I decided to drift, just go wherever my interest took me.

This was only my second visit to a major art museum. Given my recent improved enthusiasm for life, the gallery was like a trip to Disney World for me, a very emotional experience. I have decided that, I am definitely drawn to the bizarre. I've always liked Dali. I like Henri Matisse but only his strange work...Jazz/Cutouts. Didn't care for Cezanne at all, but the line was very long so obviously someone does. (Give me Andy Warhol any day!) But the DADA exhibit was the strangest, and most interesting art I've seen yet!

(If you are as clueless as I was regarding DADA, copy and paste and please excuse the underlining, but my technical advisor is already in bed.) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dada

In the gallery rotunda (which in and of itself was breathtaking!) was a large azalea exhibit. All shapes and sizes, all colors. Just amazing! I just had to get Craig to take this series of pictures, that illustrate just how I feel about life and how far I've come lately.


Of course Zach ran away mortified as I posed for the pictures. I probably got some curious looks from other onlookers as well. LOL

I left the museum at closing and began to look around for a place to sit (out of the Brrrrrrrr cold!) and write while I waited for the boys. I was thinking Starbucks. I ended up in the Bar/Grill at the Holiday Inn. It was difficult knowing where to go to find anything because all the buildings look similar in color and it's hard to distinguish what might be a shop, from the government buildings! When I found the Bar/Starbucks side by side, I quickly decided on a beer over a Chai Latte. I sat down in the to listen to some music, write a bit, and enjoy my beer.

And shortly after that.....the phone rang and my "buzz" from the museum evaporated....

I'm awfully tired.....I'll write more tomorrow.

G'night

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!