Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:25 p.m. - 2018-01-26
TGIF And the Letter "R"
Today's entry is brought to you by the letter R for RETIREMENT. I filed my papers today.

I was prepared for this huge effort but it really was quite simple. NO survivor benefit, no one to have to assign anything to other than my children. Makes it easier. NO military duty. Direct deposit. March 31. And they were express mailed.

I immediately felt a huge weight lifted from me. Younger. More determined to find my fit in this world comfortably without apology. After my mental meltdown yesterday....It is imperative I begin to love myself more and find situations that I can excel in. Challenges, yes. I would like to trycross country skiing. I would like to snowshoe. I would like to (shaking in my boots) try skiing. I thought I was too old but a coworker assured me she could take me and I would be fine. I am considering Karaoke at a local pub and grub. I daydreamed about tomatoes on the deck and a comfy rope hammock swing. Smoking a pork butt. I have not had a grill in 5 years. Flowers in the yard. Making the little home me.

I got another apology from my boss very very long and sincere. I told him I was not going to leave him in the lerch I would stay through the final early out offer.

I feel so free.

Tonight my mind filled with memories of my early postal days. We were SO green. Dollar signs in our eyes. I doubled what I was making in the data entry department of a local business. Working 64 hours a week the first few months. 100 of us coming in at the same time and creating a totally unique family of clueless individuals navigating a huge mail processing facility. Night shifts none of us were used to. Luckily my shift for 3 years was 3 to 11:30 and that was bearable. Those poor souls on the midnight shift....arghhh

That big facility we all started our careers in stands empty now but for carriers and the window service area. NO more processing equipment.

We had nasty Supervisors. Harassment. Late shifts and early mornings in all sorts of weather. But the "family" has remained in touch more, because of Facebook. Several of the original 100 are going now too. When I get to Florida in April, we will have one party!

God, we were green. I was 34, older than a lot, and we were lifting 50 to 60 pound bags, trays of mail, moving moving moving. Standing for 24 years. High speed equipment. The epic fecal wall in the OTHER post office women's bathroom. UGH. Just UGH. SO many memories. Some I couldn't repeat here lol

I will miss the people. I will be grateful always that the salary I made covered my needs adequately and I even HAVE a retirement. I am making wise financial decisions and will talk Sunday with someone about rolling over my Thrift. I will be fine. I am frugal, I am smart, and I have learned my lessons with money.

Papers are in and soon I am out. Happy Day.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!