Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:58 p.m. - 2014-12-26
Made it through the ho ho holidays
Day after Christmas. After I left work at 1 Christmas Eve it was smooth sailing. I only had to make stuffing, and wait for the little darlings to wake and explore the waiting bounty. I thought as we put the gifts under the tree.... there was so much for them. Not so many gifts but expensive gifts. Lucky kids. So many have so much less.

I got to bed early. Daughter not so much. And the boys did well. We slept til 7. It was a nice surprise to see children who took their time opening gifts. Enjoying the surprise and wonder of them. It's been so many years since I had that feeling about anyting. what a wonderful wonderful time in a child's life.

The only fly in the ointment was the revelation from some dear schoolmate to my second grade grandson that there was no Santa. And being the tech kid he is, he went home and googled it. And what do you suppose he found? And article on how to tell your kids there is no Santa. Damn technology. Somehow, someway.....She still managed to get him to buy in just enough to slide across home this year. I guarantee this will be the last. And of course THEN he will spoil it most likely for his brother lol

I'm enjoying the time alone. Lori is in Kentucky with her family. I do not miss her at all and while that makes me sad there is little I can do about it. I cringe at what will transpire when she returns because if this time alone is telling me anything, it is telling me that life is very very short and too little left to compromise so much in a relationship that doesn't fit. It just doesn't. I don't feel the driving need to be with anyone. I guess I'm growing up. At 56. I love the grandkids. There's always someone to call if I WANT to do something. And I enjoy learning new things. Being outdoors. Being ACTIVE. That all changed last February. Everything changed. And I know it is not right. But I don't know how to be otherwise. Friendship after relationship I think is something that takes time.

We will see. But for now, I'm kicking back with Netflix and pondering buying a smart bluray player tomorrow. It was a nice holiday. I will enjoy the week off.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!