Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:25 p.m. - 2013-07-05
My Fourth of July since I was in Bed by 9 last night
What started out as a hellish day is turning into a very nice evening. I drove to Town Center to watch the fireworks. I enjoyed both the fireworks and watching life happen. Families sprawled out on the banks, and then the family next to me with the annoying (very annoying) handheld game. I mean VERY ANNOYING!

But,

I did not give in to it. I surfed a bit and edited pictures and finally it was time. I cannot honestly tell you how good the fireworks were because I spent time trying to get great pictures to post on Facebook, how boring is that? Zzzzzz

Our annual Fourth of July gathering was yesterday. It's been a very awkward dry
spell since my father passed away in 1999. But its finally becoming more relaxed. Bill didn't quite know what to make of my niece with the Budwiser tattoo and boyfriend who looks about 22 and has two kids. "I'm not havin any more, I cain't...I'm fixed" I think was how he put it. They are sweet kids, but this is such a departure for ME and I can imagine how it is for Bill after his nearly pristine upbringing. I don't bust ass to make as many impressive things to take to gatherings. I didn't make anything unhealthy this year. That is probably a first. But oh, it was there. The shrimp salad, the potato salad, the homemade brownies made with REAL BUTTER.... (thanks, Brit) I just cannot step away from the feed bag these days. Pandora's box is wide open. I have gained 10 now. And I feel every ounce. And not only feel sluggish, I am having back pain today and wonder if my being "out of balance, heavier in the front" is creating that issue.

Tears are welling up. Well, not really. But it's sad. I felt like a dynamo until the last few months. 55 has caught up with me. And inactivity. I am praying that there will be a move soon and I can get into that fitness room. Maybe the tanning bed...teh heh But definitely the gym. I am NOT going to drive in before work or after an 8 our day on my feet. But that close....I think it would be much easier. I have always enjoyed that type of equipment when it was EASILY accessible. And I can't give in to this aging thing without a fight. I want to be that 80 year old woman still out there kayaking....if I make it that far....

Listening to Artie Shaw and the 40's music on Sirius. I don't usually dig this kind of music, but I was thinking of Bill's mother. This was HER time. I'm picturing her dancing, smiling to this. It's a nice vision.

Took in the fireworks...and created a tasty salad. Listening to good music and cracked open a bottle of champagne from Bill's mother's house. It said "extra dry" but it's sweet...not the least dry I wonder how long it had been up there over the counter. I "broomsticked" what I thought was a ceramic piece until I heard it slosh. When I caught it, and heard that I just about died! (just about like I did tonight when I unleashed that Champagne and got that little jolt!) 100 Month Old Jim Beam from 1982, received as a gift to Bill's Dad from his sister at Christmas. Still smelled pretty much like normal. It was opened.

I'm going to go outside and look at some real lightworks. The stars are very pronounced tonight~

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!