Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:10 p.m. - 2010-05-05
Drum Circle, Kids, Growing up
What to say on this night....

Summer is coming far too quickly this year. Last weekend's 90 degree weather and bright sunny skies almost whipped us while doing yard work. A dip in the UNSEASONABLY cold pool however, did the trick to prevent us from passing out. We finally finished the mulch and planted new plants around the house. We lost almost everything in the hard freezes we had.

We're going to the drum circle this weekend. It's Diana's birthday Saturday. She's sure had some rotten ones the past two years, with everything we've been through. This year should prove to be different. I'm looking forward to the opportunity to camp with her, be outdoors, and just rest up a bit. Last weekend we had a very full schedule with concert on Friday night, massages (tough life...lol) on Saturday followed by pretty full day of shopping and eating out. We ran from 11 a.m. til around 10. My body just cant go as much as it used to without some repercussions. Sunday, we had 4 hours of yard work and Di's birthday dinner with her bowling buddies. We all had a great time, and a fun weekend....but I was ready for another weekend by Monday...

Zach graduates on the 24th. We're trying to put something together for him but the graduation calendar shows graduation being from 7 to 11:30. I CERTAINLY hope it's not going to take that long. On a MONDAY night at that. There were around 100 graduating with me. This year there will be 525. And that's just for ONE of the high schools. Our little Flagler County has indeed grown by leaps and bounds in the past 30 years. Well, I'll just be prepared for the worst and hope for the best. I will be one proud mama to see my last one go down the aisle. I am pleased with the way my children have turned out. God knows they went through some ups and downs with me. But they have managed to transcend their upbringing. Nikki is not where she wants to be educationally, but she's a great, loving mother to Jack and tries her best to be a good wife as well. She is fortunate enough to be able to stay home with Jack, albeit struggling a bit. Christa and Lee make a great couple. All my kids are happy for now. And it is a very good feeling, remembering how many downs my sisters and I have been through with MY mother. I can only pray the remainder of their lives will be so peaceful.

I talked with a friend tonight about a family situation and I watched as her eyes welled up with tears, as she related the story to me. Such emotion. I cannot remember a time when my famiy experienced that kind of emotion....connection. We are all so dysfunctionally dismembered. We all love each other, there's no dispute. And we see each other at appropriate times. But there is not depth there. Any one of us would come to the aid of another, but there's no sharing of secrets, and hopes and dreams. Maybe it's not that common for families to have those characteristics....dysfunction is the norm? I can't really say that I've seen much evidence that very many families are without their struggles.

So for ME instead of eating the frosting off the cake, and moving on to another piece of cake.....I'm learning to like the cake. To recognize that we all have bad days and good days and days we can't stand to look at our partner, and days when you see pure joy in their face. The road is hard sometimes, but the destination is worth it. I guess I'm finally growing up....

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!