Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:33 p.m. - 2010-04-20
just hanging off
I wrote "hanging off" in my title in honor of my darling grandson, Caden. The other day when he was visiting he told his Auntie Nikki that we were just "hanging off". Kids really DO say the cutest things.... So that's what I'm doing tonight...just "hanging off".

I am SO neglecting a little chihuahua just beyond the glass door it isn't funny. I just got home for the day at 9:30 and she is used to having someone around pretty much all day. Diana is in Canada on business. BUT..I am having this quiet time now, and quiet was just not happening with her out here on the porch yapping away. So she's inside. And I'm outside.

I had a great time with the kids tonight. It was one of those rare moments when you feel the energy of everyone coming together and enjoying each other's company. At least it's always been rare in my family.

Zach had some bad news. One of his best friends got arrested a few days ago. He was taking from the till at Target where he'd worked for a year and a half. He'd stolen for half of that, Zach confessed, but was only caught with a proven $300 or so. What a shame this kid has fucked up his life so much at such a young age. At 18, when he should be looking forward to college life and a future, he will instead will now be haunted by this felony arrest for a very long time. I HOPE and pray that it was a wakeup call for Zach. He boasted lifting a little trinket while we were on vacation, minimized it...and disappointed me quite a bit. I am grateful it was not HIM in this position.

Work was pleasant today. I was a raving bitch yesterday. It just started out rough at home and gravitated at work. I had to apologize for an abrupt encounter with a co-worker. Yeah, today was much better. We were dead, but at least the atmosphere had cleared somewhat.

I'm gonna head to bed before I end up regetting it in the a.m. I woke early today and shocked myself by taking a walk! It was gorgeous and I had forgotten just how the birds sound in the quiet of the morning and the feeling of dewyness all around you, and sun peeking just beyond the cypress trees, and what REAL quiet is really like. How could ANYONE resist such a spiritual experience! We'll see when tomorrow rolls around. Funny how soon we forget all that from the comfort of the snuggly covers.....

Just heard the sprinklers come on.....that means it's SURELY time to head to bed....

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!