Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:09 p.m. - 2008-03-22
Connie sez....wave that fan freakflag!!!
It's Saturday night and the day winds down with me feeling pretty damn good about all we accomplished today. The weather was heavenly so working outside was no effort. Di cleared out the garage after we unloaded some excess furniture today. Everything looks and smells great!

Last weekend was an interesting one to say the least. We checked in around noon to the Marriott in Coral Springs. Di went to the Connie Francis rehearsal and I stayed behind to soak up some of the "ambience". It was so nice tuning out the others around the pool with my IPOD and carefully selected relaxation music.

We ate Sushi and then went to the concert. We had 2nd row seats, so we got a very good view. Di was so happy, and it was a pleasant surprise for me. First time I've ever heard her, hell...I didn't even know she was still performing until I met Diana....fan extraordinaire....lol

Afterward, we had a pass to go to the after party. We found an empty table and sat down. Everyone else was mingling...other mega-fans discussing all their previous Connie experiences etc. Finally, a few couples sat with us and I tried to strike up a conversation, to no avail. Found out later they were Connie's relatives. Lively bunch....ANYWAY...... Di went up to get some wine and as she left the table I spotted Connie enter the room.

"DI!!!! There she is!!!" I shouted. Diana was mortified....she was trying to be all cool and everything. She continued to the food table.

I immediately felt kind of sorry for Connie. She was clearly VERY tired. Everyone was hovering over her. She had lipstick smeared all over the top of her hand, and water bottle. She looked like a deer caught in the headlights sort of. She kind of sunk slowly into the seat RIGHT BESIDE DI'S SEAT!

I was coming unglued by this time. What luck!!! I draped my arm, teritorily over the back of the vacant seat beside me to hold it and scanned the room trying to find Di and tell her. After what seemed like hours....Di reappeared and took her seat. I was pulling stuff out of her folder, to hand to Connie and she stopped me. Play it cool. Don't wave the fan freakflag! Turned out that by the time Connie signed her stuff, she wasn't even aware of anything. And Di was close to an anxiety attack. It was like this involuntary reaction thing, the autograph. Di has always in the past been able to go up singly and at least have momentary full attention of Connie. So it was a mixed bag. It was exciting to have her so close, but it was overwhelming to be in the middle of the fan-cluster surrounding her. We exited the hall shortly after that and waited outside to hook up with Connie's agent.

Mike, Diana and I went to Ft. Lauderdale to a couple of gay bars. It was fun, and we met some interesting people. I must however say that gay men are MUCH different than lesbians. We were sitting there chatting and turn around and two of them are grabbing the other's package and commenting on size. Another time one was trying to put his hand down Mike's pants. Pretty nasty bunch....lol

All in all a pretty fun weekend. Can't wait for the next adventure.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!