Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:48 p.m. - 2008-02-19
Yeeeeeee Haaaaaaa!!!!! NASCAR HERE WE COME!
It seems I'm on here less and less these days. Time flies by in a flurry of activity. Sometimes it's really a rush, and others.... I can feel the years catching up with me.

Our latest adventure was a visit to the 50th running of the Daytona 500. My sis works at the Speedway, so she was able to pass on some comps for the infield $200 value, for free. All we had to pay for was the parking space inside....$50. A miniscule price for so damn much fun.

I must preface this by saying that I in NO way wanted to be a part of this activity. I've lived here within 30 miles of this track, and worked within 1/2. I've dealt with the traffic and woes of having to stay out of town for two weeks when the races are going on. It's never been a real draw for me, free tickets or not. I recall only attending one 500 in my life, and it was dreary, cold and we were having the most miserable time and making the person who took us just as miserable. BUT...Diana SOOOOO wanted to go.

Imagine my surprise and delight when I entered the most entertaining place I've seen in years, Turn 3, the self proclaimed "Ghetto of Nascar".

We were directed to a parking space on asphalt, crowded in with many other cars. Ugh. I didn't think this was going to be so great. But we put out our chairs, and set up camp. We walked probably a mile, to the outer grounds and took advantage of all the activities and "freebies" being given away. The weather was freakin' perfect, temp about 80 degrees, with a nice cool breeze. Perfect.

Midday, took a nice nap in the jeep, then rolled out for the start of the race. We walked a short distance from our ho-hum parking spot to an advised hang out to watch the race, Tent City...Turn 3.

What a feast for the eyes....I've never seen so much creativity produced from old busses and make-shift bars, one bar sported the driver cut outs, with Jeff Gordon appearing to be sucking off one of the other drivers. Platforms built in places NO platform should be constructed. Nice barstools, and TVs waiting on those platforms for their lucky owners to claim them. Lots and lots of really colorful people, including this guy who collected all sorts of buttons including one that said "Looking for love, but will settle for sex". Couches positioned on the field with couples/partygoers seated comfortably watching the crowd go by. I could just go on and on. It was such fun to just wander, meet people, watch people just having a good time. I was most amused by just how many people can climb atop the restrooms in the "Ghetto" for a better view. And as the sun set, and the race finished under the lights, it was quite a sight to see.

I couldn't see too much of the race from where we were. My brain would register a flash now and then when I could manage to focus on the blur. I had no particular car to cheer, so I just took in the other's opinions. Let me tell you, if there ARE any Jeff Gordon fans, then sure don't speak up. I've never heard such a nasty greeting for anyone before. And I guess that from what I've learned, Tony Stewart is kind of jerky and from the interview I saw after the race, he'd certainly humbled. It wasn't the exciting race it could of been, but to me....it was magic. And watching the fun Diana was having made it just that much better!

We took a break about half way through the race to eat. Some kids were snickering at me when I was grilling my finger licking ribs and dancing to some tunes on my IPOD. I doubt they were still snickering as the heavenly smell of the perfectly cooked ribs rose to where they were sitting, perched atop someone's SUV nearby. They were absolutely the best I've ever made, and went great with the Coronas.

Fireworks finished the night, then the long drive out of the traffic. It took us about 2 hours from race finish to get to our home, usually about a 20 minute drive. But it didn't mar the fun we had experiencing a historic event in our community, one that we won't soon forget.

And to think, I've lived here ALL my life, and have never done this.....

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!