Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:26 p.m. - 2007-03-25
An Answer to Prayer
Just sitting down with a nice cup of tea to watch the sunset and reflect on the weekend. It was a good one. I went into it, unsure of the potential for success or disaster, but with hopes of the first.

Zach is here for spring break. He's only staying 4 days, but I am glad to have him, and know that he actually WANTS to be here. Things seem to be getting easier for him. He wrote Diana an email thanking her for some money she sent, and it was a real break for the two of them. I had been praying for this. His dad's new love is easy to get to know....they're a hetero couple. Mom's new relationship is a bit harder to digest for a 14 year old boy. But we are definitely making progress.

Originally I'd proposed this weekend to be OUR time. I planned to take him to an amusement park without Diana. He told me he didn't mind if Diana came along. I asked him how weirded out he'd be by the sleeping arrangement and we agreed a roll-a-way bed might be best for this one room overnight stay. I obliged, but we didn't even end up using it. He was comfortable with us sleeping together as long as we didn't "kiss and hug" next to him. (like he really THOUGHT we would do that to him???)

The humor in the weekend was the destination. I picked this little park in Valdosta Georgia (should have been a warning flag right there) called Wild Adventures. We arrived around 12 on Saturday. By 2 we were past being ready to leave. We rode about 4 to 5 rides. It was the cheesiest little park around. The big draw, the 9 roller coasters....well, over half weren't in operation. I was really bummed and if we hadn't taken to such a laughing fit during the two hours, it would have been pretty dismal. Got to laughing about really nothing much and couldn't stop. It felt great, but tears were streaming before I finished.

Before we finished our day though, I made a reservation to do something really daring. You know those things that hoist you up to about 180 feet and you pull the ripcord and sail down and out? I decided to try that. Diana and Zach were delighted and couldn't wait to take pictures. I must admit I seriously thought about chickening out just before they hoisted me but went through with it anyway. All I knew was as soon as they waved at me, I'd better jerk that cord because if I had one more second to think about where I was and what I was about to do, I wouldn't have been able to go for it. The feeling was like nothing I'd ever felt before. The freefall part of it, although terrifying, was exhilirating as well. It was all over so fast I really can't remember too much about it but I did like it. As soon as I knew my body had "caught" at the bottom and things were under control, I was able to enjoy soaring like a bird. It was probably something I'll never do again, but I'm glad I tried it.

We got Zach all set up in his room with his gaming computer and he is looking quite comfy. Diana is in her office puttering around, and I am out her enjoying this beautiful Florida weather and appreciating little baby steps that have come my way. Life just doesn't get much better than this.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!