Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:42 p.m. - 2006-10-29
Home again, Home again
It's only 7 here and feels much later due to the time change and darkness outside. Matches my mood.

Diana just showed me her idea for us to set up separate accounts and mine is a joke. I can't afford to do much more than pay the water bill at the new house. She doesn't mind at all, wants to give me an account to provide me with a feeling of having something of my own. All I could do was cry looking at the figures on paper. And I make a decent salary for this neck of the woods.

We move in two weeks more or less. Diana spent the weekend packing things away neatly (she's SO organized) while I drove down with my daughter from Chicago. 7 months pregnant with my first grandchild, this gal wanted to drive home alone from Wisconsin. I just couldn't let her do it, so I flew to Chicago and she picked me up on the way. It was good bonding time, we saw some beautiful leaves, and the break was good for Diana and I. I love the time we spend together but it is an adjustment to be with someone who wants to spend almost ALL her time with me. I've been so used to going it "solo" with the distance Craig and I had between us. I sure was glad to pull up at the apartment though.

I can't believe it's almost Thanksgiving. Our thanksgiving should prove to be very sad this year since my sister isn't talking to me, and she's hosting the annual dinner. I've invited Zach to join us, and Christa, but if neither do....we may volunteer at a meal site. I'm sure that would give us a very good feeling of helping others and take our minds off of the fact that we weren't included in the usual gathering. For Christmas I will fly up to Jersey to meet Diana's family and spend Sat/Sun/Mon with them, coming back Christmas day. I just couldn't bear being alone over the Christmas holiday with Diana already having plans to go north. Her family is a large, Italian clan, and I know it will be the warmest gathering I've ever attended. My family is a joke at the holidays. Eat and run. I have ALWAYS longed for more.

Gonna go ready myself for the workday tomorrow. Two days on the road have left me just a little weary and ready to curl up and snooze.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!