Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:15 p.m. - 2006-05-24
New Job isn't too bad...worrying for nothing as usual!
I started my new job this week. I think I'm really going to like the Beach Street office. The people are nice, the customers are few, and the supervisors leave us alone. There are also a few windows I can look through occasionally and see the river.

I really like Nelson. He's 26, and transferred from Colorado. He has many tattoos, and piercings. I think it's funny....Joe hired him signt unseen and then just about had a heart attack when he saw him. He is a good window clerk, and I think he will be fun to work with. He has an unusual sense of humor. Teresa is the only other full time clerk working with me. She seems nice enough, although very hyper and particular about the way things are done. But she has been left in the lerch for a long time without someone to fill the position I am filling. It caused her to have to do much more work.

I really want to take pictures of the inside of the post office. It's a very old building and has some gorgeous woodwork, metal work, and marble floors. The more I look around, the more interesting it becomes to me.

I stoppoed off at the store to get some beer on the way home. I was standing in front of the beer case and this black guy was next to me. I said "Hmmmm....eenie meenie miney mo"...and he added "Catch a nigger by his toe"...took me quite by surprise. I said "DON'T say that!" and then "Oh I guess YOU can say that!" It was funny.

I was working with Nelson next to me today and I asked him how tall he was. "6 feet 5 inches" he told me. I said "How about giving me about 5 inches." and quickly added...OOPS, that didn't sound good did it? I think it's gonna be fun working beside him. Another time while a customer was having a hard time getting Darlene to understand what he wanted, he got very rude and Nelson leaned over and whispered to me in a very dry tone.."Would you like my tie so you can just finish yourself off now?"

I think I got out of the main office just in time. Lots of trouble brewing over EEO's and clock rings. Alot of people will be scrutinzed. What affects one, affects everyone in that place. I feel much better knowing our supervisors trust us enough to let us do our own thing, knowing that we won't take advantage.

I'm going to go relax before I fall asleep at this terminal.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!