Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:33 p.m. - 2006-04-05
The Lifecoach Quiz
Round and round and round she goes....

I recently read an article on Lifecoaching. It seems that if you are not financially able to hire one, you can offer the following quiz to 7 or 8 people who know you well, to gain some insight on your own.

The questions are:

What three things make me, me?

When am I least like me?

If I wore a costume or uniform, and used a prop, what would it be? What would my mission be? What would you call me?

After polling three other people, I finally got an honest answer.

To question #1.... Don said; you are a liberal thinker, open to many different things...and that's good, You have a special concern for people, and....YOU'RE NOSY.

Ouch...yep, I knew what he was saying was the absolute truth, but still....

He didn't stop there. My prop would be a pitchfork. My name would be devilish. He further explained, "In a sort of yin-yang way, not an evil way." (Which I perceive to mean, loosely translated, my sarcasm and low blows when I am confronted by Don and not a serial killer kind of gal)

It was funny listening to Darlene try to intervene in the middle of this conversation, and reassure me that he didn't really mean that. I knew exactly what he meant. And I do have a very devilish side. And it ain't pretty.

On the positive side...I was touched by the responses on some answers to the questions by others. I found out that Darlene sees my prop as Sunshine, and that see admires my sense of style. (SENSE OF STYLE?????)

Another thing Don told me was how surprised he was at my low self esteem, as much as I have going for me. Then he named off everything....good job, great husband, beautiful home, great kids etc, etc. I'll be the first to admit, he's right. Everything IS going great right now....but sometimes in the middle of the calm there is this little storm that just grows stronger and stronger and I'm not quite sure how to get away from it. I feel like I should be farther along in my journey than I am after 47 years. I don't know why I can't accept myself for the ok person, or maybe even GOOD person I am, as others see me. Sure, I'd love to step out of that shadow....so just tell me how. Therapy? More drugs? Less drugs? I'm open.

Oh, that's another thing Don said.

When am I most NOT like me? He said "When you are not taking your medication." I assured him that I ALWAYS take my meds and any mood swings I might experience were bonifide hormonal surges from hell and not from my neurosis.

Two more days 'til I leave for Arizona. I've jumped back and forth between extreme excitement to wondering if I'm just a little naive striking out on this trip alone. I've certainly been doing alot of research on the internet though, and I think I've got things pretty well planned for the short time I'll be there. (And, I'm getting a navigation system, AND probably insurance this time....) Weather looks good. Should be awesome. And different.

The only problem I'm going to have is cutting the umbilical cord to my IPOD. I know that nature, in all it's splendor, fully deserves to be a solo act. I also know that if I don't cut out some of the distractions, and get inside myself, I'll never find true peace.

It's getting late. I'm finally catching up on a little sleep deficit somewhat, I'd better keep on track.

And I haven't even started to THINK about packing yet.....sigh.....

Oh and one other thing.....This guy blew the horn at me today and I held up my arm, and started wiggling and twisting my fingers and weird stuff like that and when he sped around me, I made kissy lips at him. When he got past me he motioned like drinking something and then shot me a bird. I laughed so hard that I didn't even get angry with the guy like I usually do. I'll have to try that more often!

G'night

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!