Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:36 p.m. - 2006-03-28
Friend or Foe? God only knows!
As usual, I spent too much time at "Inspiration Point" and my mind ran round and round. Several things I want to talk about.....

I have been thinking alot lately about an old friend of mine. Daphne was present for my 1st birthday party and was a big part of my life for the next 46 years. We drifted apart for short periods of time, but always reconnected and enjoyed each other's company immensely.

Until about 6 months ago.

Daphne and I have jumped back and forth on the "path" as far as our spiritual lives go. Daphne has once again landed "In the arms of Jesus" so she feels she needs to "save my soul". This is very disconcerting to me. I'm talking two page letters almost pleading me to come back to "The Lord".

I've withdrawn from the relationship for now. I feel bad about it but we are both coming from such different perspectives right now. Maybe our season has ended? She's not even sending me the Cd's from her services anymore......

I've toyed with the idea of telling her I've found my spiritual identity and I've joined some religious group that I know will freak her out. Play with her a little. Make her really get down on those knees...haha

I do hate to think of her agonizing over whether I'm gonna be "Left Behind" though. After all, we have been friends for 47 years. Through all the good, bad, and ugly.

I'll have to give it some more thought.

Tonight was very pleasant. After dinner we played scrabble. Despite my very best, most excellent if I do say so, effort ever, I still lost to Craig. (My strategy just lacks. I can always think of words...haha) It was good to be together, the three of us. Most of the time when we are home, Zach is in the "cave" (bedroom) as I refer to it. Craig is in front of the television or on the computer and I am doing whatever strikes my fancy at the moment. We need to make more time for these opportunities to be together before they slip away. The camping trip should be a good chance to spend alot of time together.

I'm getting more excited about Sedona every day. I love the new hotel I booked, and today I booked my balloon ride. My friend at work can't believe I'm going by myself. It just seems natural to me....I'm getting along with myself so much better these days! What better company? I will have to be sure and take Craig's FM transmitter for the IPOD though. Between that and XM, I'm so very spoiled. And I do LOVE my music, especially when I'm going to be driving a couple of hours in the rental car each way.

Speaking of music, Aerosmith is singing "Pink" now on my best friend, Mr. IPOD. Haven't heard that song in a while. Craig loaded a bunch of classic rock, and when I shuffle, I never know what I'm going to get. It's great!

I do find that I have quite a time stopping my mind. I'm making a little progress, practicing intentionally putting the brakes on and focusing just on the music, or other sounds. It's helping. Maybe I'm taking the wrong drugs....I really need Ritalin?? I've always wondered...

I had my pills lined up this morning and Craig asked me what they were.
I responded:"Crazy pill, crazy pill, vitamin, blood pressure pill, blood pressure pill."

Sheeeeeesh! The thought of another med, or trying something new just doesn't thrill me. I'm working hard to get the BP under control. Then maybe I can drop the BP meds. And the Lipitor. High cholesterol runs in my family...and I don't always turn away from what I know I should. I have been exercising regularly (even on trips!) and that feels great. Even my coordination has improved.

Eagles are on now. Hotel California. Gently lulling me to sleep.........

G'night

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!