Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:48 p.m. - 2006-03-17
Country comes to town!
Just a quick entry, stopping by to check email. Even away from home I can't walk by a computer without stopping..LOL

Got to D.C. around 2. All went well. Had a nice chat with a combination Colin Farrell/Johnny Dep on the plane. He was a writer/film producer (small scale)and we chatted about his work, my dreams of writing, etc. I was glad I opened up and started talking. Amazing how many people have been strategically placed in my path to encourage me these days! I knew I'd make friends all along the way on this trip..LOL Doesn't matter where, I'm chatting up a storm with strangers, always.

Drove around tonight looking at all the lovely old houses in and around D.C. and also in the Georgetown area. I've never visited there before. Lots of shops where I can only afford to look! Really nice mall - Galleria - where we had late lunch/early dinner....full of designer and upscale shops. Again....just looking...haha


Tomorrow, the more solemn task of laying Gary to rest. Craig kept joking around on the trip up.....like "Dad always hated bus rides (on the rental shuttle)" and "Dad had to die for me to to get him on a plane" Kind of creepy, but I'm happy he's not crying. Funny is definitely better and I'm sure Gary would agree. After the cemetery in the morning, we are going to visit a couple of museums. I will visit the National Gallery of Art and maybe the Gallery of Women's Art. I don't know what the boys will do.

Asked for an upgrade to a car with Sirius, and ended up with a sweet Lincoln L.S. Very nice ride, leather heated seats, moon roof, excellent sound system. All for a meager $30 a day....sweet.

Off to the hot tub!

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!