Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:02 a.m. - 2006-03-11
Cup of Joe and Headlines
Just woke and was perusing headlines on the MSN home page and came across this:

MSN.COM NEWS

Milosevic found dead in cell
U.S. hostage killed in Iraq
Sex abuse alleged at kids' hospital.

I don't think I've seen three more depressing teasers in a long time.

Didn't shed too many tears for Milosevic. He was only 64. I guess the life span for one who is charged with 66 counts of war crimes, including genocide, in Croatia, Bosnia and Kosovo, is not so hot.

I repeated his name several times, amused; "Slobodon", "Slobodon", "Slobodon". I'm trying to imagine what it would sound like to hear his mother calling him for dinner: "Sloooooooobodon"......Rolls off your tongue, but a little just a mite strange sounding, at least from my perspective. Maybe it was "Slob" for short?...... "Ohhhhhh "SLOB!"....... "Dinner!!!!!!" At least I can chuckle a little over this observation.

Anyway, he's dead. And I can't muster up much sympathy. On to the second headline.

*US Hostage killed in Iraq.

I wince, clicking on title to find out who this was. I'm saddened, but not too surprised. I am sickened to read the details. Torture, gunshot wounds to the head and chest. Another family will go to sleep tonight grieving for their father, son, or brother. I say a quick prayer for them and move on. "Rest in peace, Tom Fox".

Third item:

�Worst case� of child molestation goes to court
Prosecutor: Respiratory therapist admitted sexually abusing disabled kids

I won't even go there. I can't even fathom what kind of twisted fuck actually commits such heinous acts.

It's no wonder I shy from world news, opting for music so many times. I want to be aware of what is going on in the world but sometimes it's just more than I can take. I wonder where we will be in 10, 20, and I won't even try to imagine 100 years from now. Or if we WILL even BE.

I'm going to shut down the news now and do something less disturbing. Like stick bamboo shoots under my fingernails or poke my eye out with a stick.

Maybe I should have just gotten more sleep.........

Signing off at 9:27 a.m.


 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!