Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:03 p.m. - 2006-03-07
Really Random Stuff


It's a nice week, I get to work at the smaller, more intimate office. No supervisors, great co-workers, and only 2 blocks to the river where I can go during lunch. Wish I could be there full time. So much stress at the "Big House". Rumors of consolidation and possible job re-structuring are worrisome. Our second-in-command is one of the biggest assholes I've ever met. Real power trip/ego stuff. It can be a real unpleasant place to be alot of the time.

It is a real treat when I get to spend time in the smaller office. It's quite unique. We have about ten flower arrangements and hanging plants
Don, our most senior employee (39 years and counting) knows everyone by name (and each of their pets as well!). He goes to great lengths to make sure each customer leaves with a smile. We have two little mice (similar to Topo Gigio (SP?) if any of you are old enough to remember him? We dress them in costumes I made for different holidays. At Christmas Darlene and Don brought in so many dancing, singing, animated toys you wanted to pull your hair out by the end of the day. But you better believe the customers loved them. And the little children loved them THREE times as much, or as many times as they could push the button before mom intervened. The customers adore Don, and they love that they can bring their dogs inside, put them on the counter (shhhhh!) and have them showered with attention by us. Several of them get little gifts, cards, etc from him. He's a special kind of guy. It's fun working there and being a part of something like that, if only for a few days here and there. (sigh...)

It's MY time now, everyone is in bed. I smoked a little, sat outside thinking, listening to music, and dancing. I need this time and I enjoy it immensely. It's been a big adjustment not having that day off in the middle of the week. That was really precious time for me. I enjoyed cleaning more without anyone around, made better meals, and had time to lunch with friends. I was out by 2 on Saturday so I still had most of Saturday and Sunday. It is also very nice though, to have two days off in a row. If we want to take a weekend trip I don't have to use a day.
So I guess it works out for the most part.

The wind has calmed down. It was so blustery today by the river that the seagulls were flying sideways,and backward. It was hilarious. I walked out on the dock to look up at them, and while it was wonderful seeing them from that perspective....the thought of seagull droppings in my hair made me quickly rethink that. I sat by the water long enough for Mother Nature to totally restyle my hair then finally gave up. I'm no whimp, but it was just too windy/chilly. Maybe better tomorrow.

I'm going to move out to the lanai and sit for a few more minutes before heading to bed. I'm getting a little tired of living in such close proximity to so many different neighbors. Our last house was at the end of a cul-de-sac and we had nobody on either side with a wooded area at the end of the road. It was peaceful...but with all the construction here now it's hard to escape noise anywhere. I will be happier when we get the fence up and I can create beautiful gardens and decorate the fence and get a fire pit and on and on and on. Should have it up by the end of May or sooner. Maybe that will satisfy me for a while and get those thoughts of Tennessee out of my mind...

Tomorrow....maybe I'll actually write about one of the many things I actually contemplated writing about tonight...

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!