Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:26 p.m. - 2005-09-06
-A Week of Tragedy, A night of joy
Four days off. It was wonderful, but a mixed blessing because it's always so hard to return to work. Maybe thinking about only 3 days to work this week, and finishing the week in Holly Hill will take some of the sting away.

Hardly left the house the whole 4 days. Gas prices have curtailed some of our frivilous driving. Went out yard saling on Saturday but didn't find anything at all worth it. Went for a nice breakfast at a quaint cafe at the beach...that was nice, AND tasty.

It's been real hard to watch the images coming from the Louisiana/Mississippi area. So many sad stories. One man tonight told how he kept promising he'd come for his mother but by the time help reached the nursing home, she had already drowned.

What in God's name went so terribly wrong....who should we blame? Everyone has their own idea, but in the long run that does nothing to help those who have been lost forever in watery graves. I can't imagine how family members feel watching and waiting and having no idea if their loved ones are still alive or down in that muck.

It is somewhat strange that all those media people found a way to get in....and all those stars from Harry Connick Jr to Oprah, and relief has been so slow. I can't help but blame some who didn't take this storm seriously enough, but from reports they were the minorty. Most were at the end of their money, waiting for the 1st of the month, and had no choice. I visited New Orleans last year, thankfully....since it might not be visitable for many years to come after this. I didn't see anything but the "touristy" areas...took a ride on the Natchez, walked the streets, had Beignets at Cafe Du Monde. Got such a huge kick out of all the mardi gras necklaces with penises and boobs. I didn't see the poverty or the crime. What a horrible, horrible tragedy. And it looks like the magnitude of it won't be known for weeks or months. I keep hearing projections on how many dead and remember the brief period of time where I was actually thankful that they didn't get hit head-on. Who thought, at that moment, that the levees would have not ONE, but THREE breeches.

On the positive side....Hubby and I finally got down to some alone time tonight. I attended a "toy" party last week and picked up a few pointers and products. We had alot of fun. He got his new digital camera and we took some great pictures. I told him we should start composing an album to look over....some are really erotic and nice, and with a little cropping would be much better. He is hesitant becuase he fears that Zach will somehow stumble upon it but I bet with a little convincing he'll go along with it. He certainly had fun playing photographer. As I kissed him goodnight, I remarked that tonight was alot of fun and how great it is that after being together for 15 years, we are still finding new ways to enjoy each other. I have always taken great pride in my skills where BJ's are concerned. Never had an unsatified customer..haha. But I found out after reading a book "How to Tickle His Pickle" that there are always new "angles"....no pun intended.

It's getting late. I will try to make it to bed by 11.....all this rest has spoiled me and I don't want to drag in the morning. We're in the middle of the early effects of a storm brewing in the Atlantic and prospects for walking the next two nights don't look real good. Glad I walked this morning. At least I got that in. And if I wasn't so lazy these days....I'd hop up at 5 and go again. But I don't even kid myself that I might actually do that. Most likely it will still be raining then....it's rained almost non-stop for most of the day. And then came the frogs. I had to put on my MyFi with headphones block most of it and could STILL hear them. If it ain't Cicadas these days....it's frogs. But at least I have a home....and we're all safe. A little inconvenience like bugs and frogs is nothing I should complain about!

If the storm hits us as projected, it will be Friday at around 2 p.m. with 70 MPH winds. Just a breeze compared to Katrina. Thank God. I only pray we are so lucky for the remainder of the hurricane season. Tarps still remain on quite a few houses in Daytona from last years storms. We just had gutters installed....it would be ironic to lose them in the first couple weeks....

So we'll just hope.....and pray. And do what we can to help others, and feel helpless that there is only so much we can do....and hope that if we get hit as hard as they do that some lessons have been learned. I've seen models of what our damage would have been with a similar storm and it ain't pretty.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!