Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:21 p.m. - 2005-07-09
Saturday afternoon dribble
Now THIS is the way weekends are supposed to go.

Thankfully, the storm missed us completely except for a few breezy moments so far. I'm not into watching the hurricane reports every five minutes for updates, got enough of that last year but hubby is intent on being up to the moment in progress. Yawn....

Got up around 9 to head down the street to a yard sale. Jackpot! Got a nice plant and a computer chair we needed badly. Now my kitchen table can have 4 chairs again! Back home to putz around cleaning around pool area, everything smells nice and fresh. Decided to go ahead and cook the steak we had for dinner for a mid-afternoon meal and skip dinner for maybe some kind of great dessert later. It was fabulous. I bought it at the market already in wine/herb marinade and it was oh so tasty. I'm finding that this market has MANY already constructed meals that are turning out to be just as delicious as handy.

So it's only 3:24 and I feel like I should be taking my after dinner walk. Instead, I'm thinking of having an after dinner "smoke" and spend some time in the pool. Son is home, extrememly evident from the drum beats coming from the spare bedroom (or the DRUM room as he likes to call it). He probably wouldn't notice much, he's going back into the "cave" or his bedroom, completely devoid of any natural lighting. I don't know how he can stand to stay in there for extended periods of time. I'd go nuts! or Nuttier than I already am....

Still thinking about that picture of Kaj, Rosie...haha....He truly is fine.
He wears 59 VERY well.

I've kind of ditched my former best friend. I feel like a bum, but not enough to do anything about it. She's a very sweet gal but has so so much baggage. Heart issues, obsessive-compulsive disorder, it's just a load to carry. When I was susie-churchgoer and superwoman I used to take care of everyone's needs but my own. And I was fairly happy with it. But since I've dropped out of church, and I'm taking care of my needs ONLY....it leaves a void, and very little patience for drama and the daily work of keeping up with a "best friend." I knew she was missing me, but only when my daughter told me that she saw her at work and she said something like "I had two surgeries and she never came to see me...what kind of friend is that?" did I realize just how serious things are. So what to do....just let things die off...or continue to be only slightly interested in maintaining them. I refer to Hubby and I as social retards, but he adamantly states that he prefers it that way. Enough to do with full time job etc....weekend is for family and to relax. Not interested in friends, no sireeeeee! I am interested in friends, but I guess only when I need them. Oh selfish me....

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!