Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:29 p.m. - 2005-05-22
Camping reunion/Neurotic tendencies/Star Wars
Got a bite, got a nap, and I'm ready to disect the weekend. My life-long friend, Daphne, and I got together for a little R & R at a local State Park. Hubby was nice enough to pull the pop-up out there, set everything up, and come back today to tear down, while son and I were kayaking. It was a superb weekend in alot of ways, and not so great in others. The surroundings, however, were AMAZING!

One of the campsites in the park. It was lovely with all the brush dividing the sites just enough for some privacy. Clean restrooms, one brand new!

We started out on Friday night with a little sit around, small fire, smoke some, drink some, just chit chat and catch up. Daphne was in awe of the surroundings...she lives more in-state and doesn't have the same kind of vegetation, etc. in her area. The marshes, etc on the drive over really thrilled her. We sat and talked for quite some time. In the midst of one of our philosophical conversations, my cell phone rang and it was another mutual friend of ours, from childhood, who still keeps in touch. She's a flight attendant and she was calling to tell me she was having drinks with my ex brother-in-law. (He's a pilot for the same company she works for) I was happy to hear from her, but the brain cells weren't connecting too well and the conversation had several lapses where I was giggling so hysterically I couldn't even get out the words I wanted to speak. I haven't had a buzz like that in quite some time! Saturday morning, my first attempt at kayaking and I LOVED IT! Don't know if I want a single or double, but I definitely want one! The current was not strong and we glided almost effortlessly along the water. Little creeks that branched aoff the main waterway were quiet and a perfect picture of "Old Florida". Saturday night we noticed a posting on the bathroom door that there would be folk music/dancing in the hall down from our campsite. We went out for an early dinner beachside (only a few miles from where we were) and then came back for the music and dancing. I was hesitant....the inhibitions have been back lately....but finally joined the dancing and had a great time. I was again, pretty buzzed and finding thought over where to move a bit frustrating...haha. The only downside was that there were just as many children (including very SMALL children) who were involved, as adults, and they were a hinderance to learning somewhat. Still, a good time. After the dancing we retired to some more conversation and finally to bed around 1 a.m. I got back up and sat outside gazing at the full moon with some great tunes on the IPOD, and really enjoyed some quiet time. Ok. Here's the not so good part. The inferiority complex I thought I was shedding finally came rushing back with Daphne's visit. She's a health fanatic (Her words while we were discussing finding things to create passion in our lives i.e. music, talents, etc. were: I've always had a passion for exercise, for NOT GETTING FAT!) She has the body of a 20 year old due to personal trainer and dedication to exercise for the past 25 or so years. I outweigh her by about 70 pounds. But she's very wrapped up in personal appearance too, mentioned debating a boob-job, possible later face lift, botox, etc. Very wrapped up in appearance. All the confidence I felt I'd worked up over the last few weeks/months had already been challenged by an extremely busy week, little exercise, and alot of anticipation over what this weekend would be like and hoping it would be a success. Whatever shred of of it I had left, washed away at the sight of Daph in her bikini with her 20 year old body next to my modestly covered girth as we departed to kayak. I could kick my ass for feeling this way. I know that if we were to get down to brass tacks, there are alot of things that I have going for me that Daphne probably envies. I know that I have the power to change what I don't like about myself. But it all sort of took me over this weekend. There were times when I just wanted to be alone. It felt at times that Daphne felt the air had to be filled with conversation if we were sitting together and that was a little overwhelming at first. I love to talk, don't get me wrong...but I can do without it in the presence of nature, music, etc. All in all, it was a good experience. We had some rain at times...but usually not crucial times. And the pop-up is well appointed with all the comforts of home (sans toilet, which is more effort for the small area than it's worth)

The weather was cool enough to unzip the flaps on the tent end and feel the breeze blow in. Sleeping past 8:30 was nearly impossible though, the birds were chirping so loudly and beautifully! Quiet time really IS around 10, and I suspect that we made a little more noise at times than those really close would have liked. Oh, and we had two armadillos come a visiting and nearly freaked me out they got so close. Plus squirrels who have quite obviously been fed many times by unsuspecting campers. Bold little shits, they were! We're going back next week as a family, and I can't wait!

As far as the Star Wars event, it was pretty good. Zach was mortified at first, that nobody else appeared to have a costume on around us, but closer to show-time many more came and he relaxed. The movie was great and I stayed awake for most of it (brief moments of sleep crept in from time to time, but I doubt more than 5 minutes overall) and managed to survive the next day on about 4 to 5 hours sleep.

That's enough catch-up for now.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!