Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:16 p.m. - 2005-05-11
Waiting for the presser foot.....
I'm killing some time before the hubby comes home with the presser foot for my sewing machine. I'm doing this to avoid making pour over butter popcorn.

I took a couple of hours off to get a jump on the Jedi Knight costume. I had to really fight for the time, although we were crawling all over each other and not busy at all. There was alot of (BIG SNOOZE) training that all of a sudden has to be completed since the audit is coming up soon, so they were reluctant to let me go. I managed to lasso the postmaster though, who was so eager to let me have the time off, thus pissing off my immediate higher-ups who were unwilling to make a decision...

Got a call from a distraught friend from the other office where I work. She wanted to know if I paid someone to abscond with the singing bird in the cage they had sitting on the counter. It was there this morning, gone this afternoon. I assured her I had not, while silently thanking God that someone had done this blessed thing. Can you imagine FOUR animated things going off at one time, chirping, singing, dancing...etc. Too much. Way too much. I complained at first, then realized Mr. "stuck in the fifties" was getting far too much joy from my distress, and I stopped.

Mr. SITF turned on the weather channel yesterday so that he could listen to elevator music on the sly, and I quickly turned it to CNN. (I hate CNN but it's better than that dreadful music!) He asked "Where did the music go? (note WHINY tone here) I replied "I turned it off, thats where it went"....and then turned to his customer and said "He is a bad boy and can't share so it's no music at all for him" (I've offered to rotate so that everyone can have a say, but he won't tolerate that, so we made this agreement to NO music a while back) He was a little huffed....and so was I and that was probably a real stupid waste of energy but I couldn't help myself. He's so annoying. He can be very kind but it's always kind in the ways that make him feel good...i.e. bringing in crap from the dollar store to lavish on us...little keepsakes and sturf we have to pretend to like. I'd trade all that pile-o-crap for just one day when we could listen to the music WE enjoy. Or I'd even trade one day of NOT having to listen to his political views OVER and OVER to everyone who comes down the line. It's a "mom and pop" sort of post office but there's gotta be a line there somewhere??? Oh yeah, its the RETIREMENT line, and I hope he goes there pretty soon.

Hubby and son are taking up Yoga. I might be ignorant about Yoga, but I never envisioned it being done by a 6'1" 240 pound guy. I visualize willowy shapes that can be bent into near pretzel-like positions with ease. But from what he tells me, its supposed to be very good for someone like him, who has a pretty beat up body and still wants to do something for it. I'm happy he's learning something new and he's happy with it. Son is enthusiastic too, and Lord knows getting him off the computer or drums for a while can't be a bad thing.

Where is my presser foot????

Dinner tonight will be simple....meat market had all kinds of semi-prepared dishes and I picked something up for a quickie meal so I won't be interrupted, or stressed in cooking.

Just got a nice rain...should help the grass grow. New house next door just put down sod and now our recently revived yard that I thought was looking fairly good, now looks like shit. Oh well....the grass over the tree spikes is looking pretty good...maybe we need to get a couple hundred of those and put them down all over the yard??? This yard thing is just not MY thing.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!