Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:22 a.m. - 2005-05-11
Hodgepodge and other crap
I almost hate to write today. I feel as uncreative as I've felt in a very long time.

Woke with a headache, general sluggishness, drug myself out of bed to walk but the enthusiasm just wasn't there. Again, I think poisoning by junk food. I experienced this severely on Sunday after consuming mass quantities of pure sugar/carb junk. Then yesterday, retirement luncheon for a co-worker who has worked for FORTY SIX years at the post office. Lots of junkie food again, and again, little restraint on my part. You would think after that crash on Sunday, I'd have more control.

Anyway...nothing monumental going on. Work yesterday was a bit frantic initially as it was a quasi-battle zone amongst the other window people. So much underlying tension, and downright overt tension, directed at each other. I wanted to run like hell. So I began plotting to leave early. Didn't work. Thinks subsided a bit later in the day, but it's a very toxic situation. Too many chiefs, and not enough indians. I'm trying to focus and rise above it but the toxicity is so contagious!

Front page local section detailed the cause behind a horrific crash on I-4 Sunday that killed 2 people and left a 5 year old boy in critical condition. We were shocked to see who was driving the car causing all of that. The culprit was a past customer, one who came in with demands, who apparently thought the world revolved around him. It was so bad we all avoided him when we saw him coming. Just unimaginable childishness and selfishness. Well, now he's dead. It seems he was rushing to get to a Mother's Day event (was already 30 minutes late....why???) and was driving erratically. He pulled in front of a Jeep, and clipped the front of the vehicle, causing both cars to careen out of control and into the path of oncoming traffic. He was thrown from his SUV. His Chevy Avalanche looked like a sedan in the picture.

The article in the paper read like he was a pure saint. Of course. And I feel a bit guilty speaking ill of the dead....but this guy was the poster child (at least from the way he represented himself in our place of business) for what NOT to look for in a relationship. I can't imagine this loving brother, son picture they painted. Still, a mother is grieving, and feeling a fair amount of guilt because her son was rushing to see HER. A sister has lost her brother. I am trying to summon up some compassion.

All is well with us. Began working on the Star Wars costume. I'm opting for something simple (Mon Montha) instead of Darth Vader. Too many accessories. Jedi Knight costume for the boy. I'm running out of time, Premiere is next Wed. night. I see a marathon of sewing this weekend....

Better go get the boy up.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!