Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:06 a.m. - 2005-05-01
And the beat goes on.......
I'm so damned tired it's probably not the best time to write, but I knew if I didn't do it tonight alot would be lost by tomorrow.....

I did go to the drum circle. It was a pretty amazing experience. Immediately ran into a couple who were attending for the first time and planted myself at their campsite for a little chat, aquaint myself with the layout etc. They offered me breakfast (an omelet sort of thing with veggies that made me seriously regret the less healthy breakfast I'd already purchased and devoured on the drive over!) Walked around a bit afterward to check out the vendors and was so fascinated by all the little instruments, however simplistic and the sounds they made. Fantastically intricate tie-dye, herbs etc. everything was a new experience for me. I was like a kid in a candy store. I saw one thing that caught my eye. A double cowbell...and had to get it. The Will Farrell/cowbell thing on SNL has been a big laugh around the house with Zach and I bought it both to use and for effect....I knew it would bring a smile to his face. I was surprised, when on the way home and listening to XM 102 - African music, how well it fit in with some of the songs. When I got home and downloaded some stuff I enjoyed playing and dancing with it and I guess now I have a third outlet for exercise at home that's enjoyable. I'm probably going to check out a nearby drum circle in the future and see where I can fit in. It was so intoxicating...the rhythm just drew me in. Some very skilled instructors were doing the workshops. If my hand wasn't still trying to recover from my fall, I'd have been more inclined to try out a drum but sadly, it's still a little out of commission.

The camping area left something to be desired. I've come a long way in what I need to be comfortable but a good bathroom nearby is high on the list. Although my family made it's living from portable toilet rentals....it's something I've never learned to embrace..haha Something about looking down into a collection of everyone's excrement and urine that just doesn't set well with me...but I did break down and use it once today. I'm not liberated enough to use the little makeshift bathroom (tarps wrapped around a tree) that my newfound friends had fashioned.

As I talked with the Edie and Elmer I learned more about their lives. Edie was I'm guessing around 60ish, retired and looked like anyone's grandma except in a RonJon sleeveless t-shirt and shorts, sans bra. Elmer was a robust biker type, very personable. Edie related a story to me about how while she was visiting her daughter recently her daughter's primary concern was to rush out and buy her some "respectable" clothes to wear because "she was a grandma and that's how grandma's are supposed to dress". I found that very sad, although I would expect nothing less from my family should I depart from my conservative ways and begin dressing so different. This woman, from what she told me spent a great deal of her life in a suffocating relationship with a military man and seems to have finally found freedom with her present husband, learned how to enjoy life. Why can't people just accept others for who they are? Especially family? I guess kids never get over being embarrased by their crazy parents. Don't talk about sex, don't even indicate that you ever had it, don't dress outside of their comfort zone, etc.

I must admit that the group of people I came in contact with today were far different than anyone I've ever hung out with before. I found it refreshing to see people just enjoying themselves, getting into the music and doing their own thing. Everything was so unique according to each individual. I guess on a very small scale this must have been what Woodstock was like, without the blatant drug use. I never saw anyone even smoking pot although I'm sure there was plenty around. There were beautiful children playing in the sand, one dressed as a fairy or princess, one with some gorgeous dreads, others dancing while the performers played. I found myself wishing I'd experienced just a little of that freedom in my upbringing.

I didn't get to stay for the circle tonight. The bottom dropped out and there was no end in sight. I was disappointed because I wanted to play my cowbell and see what the group effort sounds like when everyone comes together. There's another event in November and I'm hoping that the family will go with me. Zach would have loved the music. He's so into his drum set now I think he'd appreciate it now. I'd like to be able to share the music with him, we have so little that we enjoy doing just mom and son as he grows older. Video games are just not my thing and his time spent on the computer is not something I can share either. Camping will improve the options in that area though, and I hope to do more of that as the weather improves. It's wonderful family time for us.

It's very late and it's been a long day.....

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!