Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:02 a.m. - 2005-04-19
My Morning Reflections/T Shirts from Hell
My Morning Reflection

This morning was the first since I started walking that I had to really mentally debate whether it might be a better idea to just go back to sleep. The walk won out.

It didn't take more than a few steps to reinforce in my mind that this is the best time of the day for me. Cool air (something that soon will be in short supply), peace and quiet (didn't pass ONE car today), good tunes, and lots of creative ideas. I can't wait until I get the attachment for my IPod that will enable me to record some of those ideas while I walk. It's kind of hard to write in the dark.

Why would I for one moment resist these walks? Could it be this 46 year old body of mine and it's groaning???

T-SHIRTS FROM HELL

As we drove up to the school yesterday to drop my son off, I noticed for the first time, his new shirt he had so proudly bought with his own money. "A great deal, Mom.....TWO for $20!" he told me....but I didn't bother to check them out at that time.

Just before he got out of the car, I finally read it...."Beauty is only a lightswitch away". I was mortified. I asked him if he realized what that implied. (he's 12) He got this sheepish grin on his face, turned a little red, and said "NO, mom, YOU tell me what it implies". I was sure he knew and was just playing me and I gave him the mini-lecture about making shallow judgements about others. (I did find out later that he really didn't FULLY understandthe implications of it)

When I discussed this with a friend, she told me to tell him "Yeah, it is a light switch away....the light switch of turning on your mind and realizing that REAL beauty has nothing to do with long blonde hair or flawless skin. Sage advice, I'd say.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!