Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:49 p.m. - 2005-04-17
The New Health Regime


After reading my first entry again, I must apologize. Such dribble. But I felt it necessary to lay some groundwork initially. Hey, I'm not being graded on this am I?

I have really been enjoying my latest attempt to regain relative good health. The morning walks have been amazing both to body and mind. I have time to think about things when there are no distractions. I come home refreshed and ready to sit and write. I had no less than 10 ideas for diary fodder after my last walk. (Too bad I didn't get to the computer THAT time....because they still sit unused on my desk!) Why had it taken me so long to discover a way that walking (or any other form of exercise) was so pleasant....The IPOD!

This afternoon I was craving a cigarette. I decided to indulge myself. After rummaging through my abyss of a purse for keys, I realized that I had left them elsewhere. I just didn't know where. "THE BIKE", I thought.....and headed out to the garage where I realized that my tire was flat. I had to take hubby's. Barely being able to reach the pedals, I wobbled about trying to convince myself I'd actually be safe on it. Wind was whipping like crazy. Cold. And to top it all off, I looked like something from a bad hangover with unkept hair, no makeup, dark sunglasses, mis-matched clothing. A real wreck. As I finished the first leg of the trip....about 1/2 a mile...it suddenly occured to me how obsurd this was. I was enjoying the exercise and struggling to keep from falling off the much-too-high for me seat of hubby's bike only to defeat my vision of better health to go get a cigarette. How ironic! I reached into my pocket only to find that I had left my cash somewhere else. By this time, I was nearly winded from the extremely strong winds. I told myself that it was a sign....that I didn't need that freakin' cigarette, turned around and began to head for the house, feeling very frustrated.

And then I found my keys in the floor of the car, where I'd dropped them the night before. On the seat lay the $20 I had thought was in my pocket.

So I promptly drove to get that damn cigarette. Sadly, Irony taught me no lessons.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!